Tartu International School is owned by Non-profit Association Tartu International School (Mittetulundusühing Tartu International School). This is a voluntary association which members´ body consists of parents, staff members, and other individuals that share the philosophy and objectives of the association, and who are responsible for the ultimate administrative and financial state of the association. The Annual General Meeting of the association is responsible for electing the Management Board for the association.

The Management Board directs the association and it is responsible for the development of the projects of the association, hiring the executive leaders for the school and daycare (headmaster and daycare leader) and providing continuous guidance to the executive leaders. The Management Board sets the tuition fees and additional payments for the school and daycare, verifies the budgets of the association and the school and daycare. The Management Board reports and provides proposals to the Annual General Meeting. The Management Board convenes when necessary but at minimum once every two months. The members of non-profit organisation Tartu International School management board are Eve Mägi, Kirsi Äyräs, Elo-Kai Kurel, Maria Järvare. The management board of the association Tartu International School can be approached via The document that regulates the work of association can be found here:

NGO Tartu International School articles of association 14_03_2012

Association TIS membership application

A school is directed by a Head of the school. The head of a school is responsible for the organisation and effectiveness of teaching and education, other activities carried out in the school, the overall condition and development of the school, and the lawfulness and purposeful use of the funds.  The head concludes the employment contracts with teachers and other employees of the school, and leads the work of the School Board and the Teacher Council.

The School Board is a body whose function is to ensure the joint activities of the students, teachers, owner, parents of students, graduates and organisations supporting the school in guiding, planning and observing teaching and education, and creation of better opportunities for teaching and education. The School Board is formed  by the owner of the school. The School Board has 5 members: the head of the school, one representative of the teachers (elected by the Teachers´ Council), one representative of the parents (elected at the Parents’ General Meeting), two representatives of the owners (appointed by the management board of non-profit organisation Tartu International School). The duties of the elected and appointed members last for two years.

The members of the school board:

  • Kristi Aria – the Head of the school, the Chairwoman of the school board
  • Kadi Rätsepp – the representative of the teachers, Vice Chair; substitute member Maria Mandri
  • Mette Gregersen – the representative of the parents; substitute member Keren Bar-Zakai
  • Maria Järvare – the representative of the owners (NGO Tartu International School)
  • Eve Mägi – the representative of the owners (NGO Tartu International School)

The function of the Teachers´ Council is to determine, analyse and assess the schooling and education of the school and to make the decisions necessary for directing the school. The head of school, teachers, support specialists and other persons appointed by the head of school are members of the teachers’ council. A representative of the student council will be involved in the activities of the teachers’ council whenever appropriate and necessary.

Comments are closed